Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council

Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council is comprised of five members: one Chief (Hähkè), one Deputy Chief and three Councillors, elected in accordance with the Constitution of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in.

The Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council implement the directives of the General Assembly.

Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council is elected every four years and meets twice per month, generally on the second and fourth Thursday of the month in Council Chambers. A quorum of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council shall be the Chief or Deputy Chief and two (2) of the elected members of Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council. These meetings are also attended by non-voting ex-officio representatives from the Elder’s Council and Youth Council.

The Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council make decisions by consensus wherever possible. When consensus cannot be reached, decisions are made by a majority vote of those present. The Chief shall not vote unless there is a tie, in which case the Chief shall have the deciding vote.

For more detailed information on the powers and duties of Tr’ondëk Hwëchi’n Council, see sections 9 and 10 of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Constitution and Governance Act.

The current Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Council was sworn in on May 31, 2023. Minutes of Council meetings are available to citizens upon request.

Documents, Applications and Forms

TH Art Work